Business Registry Strategic Advisory Council

On this page

About the Council

The Business Registry Strategic Advisory Council (BRSAC) held its final meeting on 27 November 2023 and is now closed.

BRSAC was established in 2019 and played a key role in:

  • influencing the strategic direction and priorities, and identifying risks in the delivery of the Registrar’s 2024 vision
  • advocating and supporting the Registrar’s role in unlocking the register's economic and social value for the Australian community
  • supporting a fairer business environment for the community, businesses and government through registry services, provision of business information and administration of director identification numbers.


Organisation Members (as at November 2023)
Australian Taxation Office Karen Foat (Chair), Deputy Registrar and Deputy Commissioner of the Australian Business Registry Services
Australian Taxation Office Chris Jordan, Commissioner of Taxation and Registrar of the Australian Business Registry Services
Australian Taxation Office David Allen, A/g Chief Service Delivery Officer, Service Delivery
Australian Taxation Office Will Day, Deputy Commissioner, Small Business
Australian Bureau of Statistics Michael Smedes, Chief Data Officer and General Manager, Statistical Infrastructure Division
Australian Chamber - Tourism John Hart, Executive Chair
Australian Institute of Company Directors Christian Gergis, Head of Policy
Australian Security and Investment Commission Warren Day, Chief Operating Officer and Regional Commissioner Vic
Australian Small Business and Family Enterprise Ombudsman Bruce Billson, Ombudsman
Council Of Small Business Organisations Australia Luke Achterstraat, Chief Executive Officer
Department of Finance Nathan Williamson, Deputy Secretary
Department of Industry, Science and Resources David Luchetti, Head of Division, AusIndustry
Digital Service Providers Australia New Zealand Simon Foster, President and Chair
Digital Transformation Agency Lucy Poole, General Manager, Digital Strategy, Standards and Policy
Institute of Certified Bookkeepers Matthew Addison, Executive Director
NSW Small Business Commissioner Chris Lamont, Commissioner
QLD Small Business Commissioner Dominique Lamb, Commissioner
Small Business Victoria Ylva Carosone, Executive Director
Treasury James Kelly, First Assistant Secretary, Financial Systems Division
Office of the Registrar of Indigenous Corporations Andrew Huey, Deputy Registrar
Tax Practitioners Board Michael O’Neill, Secretary and Chief Executive Officer
Australian Charities and Not-for-profits Commission Sue Woodward, Commissioner

Terms of reference
The terms of reference outlined how the Business Registry Strategic Advisory Council (BRSAC) played a role in achieving the delivery of the Registrar’s 2024 Vision.

News from the Council
Key highlights from past meetings of the Business Registry Strategic Advisory Council.

Last modified